ABC: Music (2011) – A

Music is very important to me. I like to surround myself with music throughout the day: when I wake up; when I’m on the road; when I’m eating; when friends are visiting; when I feel sad; when I feel happy. No moment is truly experienced without a certain ‘soundtrack’ to accompany it.
I can get quite attached to a song which creates two distinguished consequences:

1- I find it very difficult to share, for I consider it my song. As soon as others start to play the song the love can extinguished quite easily. Only the very best survive this challenge.
2- The song will be played over and over again until it has completely integrated with a certain moment in time. So the next time I hear it again it will take me back to that specific moment.

I try to learn myself that ‘not sharing the music’ is relentlessly selfish and very much not the point of what music is about. Music is about sharing and bringing people together. So therefore I decided to make a tribute to all the music that is or has been important to me. Hopefully it will inspire others to share their own personal music alphabet and to explore the musical sights that were off their map before.

A: Age of Consent (New Order)
First things first, lets start with the letter A. Some years ago I was really into movie trailers on the web and one fortunate day I clicked on a trailer for the movie Marie Antoinette by Sofia Coppola. It made me ecstatic. Not only the images of the movie, but most of all the music that accompanied it. It really got to me and it still does so today. The dreamlike tunes really fitted the surrealistic feeling of the movie. I just had to know what song it was and after some detective work I came to the conclusion that it was Age of Consent by New Order.

I think it’s safe to say that the song was and still is my favourite song, even after all these years and even after all those other beautiful songs I’ve come across in the meantime. It is so special to me because it had a great impact on my musical taste. If it wasn’t for this song I would still be listening to the overproduced and highly commercial songs of the radio (not that anything’s wrong with that, but it’s just not me). It guided me into a whole new world of music; one I like to dwell in all the time.

To make the sharing easier I added a link to a clip that makes use of images of Marie Antoinette throughout the complete song. So it’s not the mesmerising trailer that leaded me to a new music scene but overall it brings some of the magic across. Don’t be distracted by the sugary sweet movie fragments too much, for it’s all about the music!

Leave a Reply

