Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting

John Mayer sings a song about ‘waiting on the world to change’. He is pleading for some action; let’s not wait on others to make things better but make it happen yourself! An honourable thought which should be encouraged, but waiting isn’t always a bad occupation. I consider waiting a very healthy thing to do. It’s kind of a meditation, a moment to contemplate.

In this crowded and busy life it’s nice to be able to take a step back. So waiting on the bus to come or for the red light to turn green can be a very welcome moment of ‘nothingness’. A tiny little break. A moment to just sit and wait.

This picture was taken while being on my way to the Vatican. It was a little after lunchtime and I really had to pee, but I also really wanted to move on to see the St. Peter’s Basilica. So this waiting moment really made me take a step back and consider the option to have lunch (and a restroom visit) first before rushing up to the Pope’s Residence even though it was just around the corner. It enabled me to relax and take my time: the Vatican wasn’t going anywhere. It would be waiting for me even after a lunch break.

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting

  1. I laughed when I saw this because for this challenge I had been thinking of standing at a street corner to take a picture of either people waiting for the bus or to cross the street. 🙂 You captured this very well.

Leave a Reply

