ABC: Music (2011) – I

Music is very important to me. I like to surround myself with music throughout the day: when I wake up; when I’m on the road; when I’m eating; when friends are visiting; when I feel sad; when I feel happy. No moment is truly experienced without a certain ‘soundtrack’ to accompany it.
I can get quite attached to a song which creates two distinguished consequences:

1- I find it very difficult to share, for I consider it my song. As soon as others start to play the song the love can extinguished quite easily. Only the very best survive this challenge.
2- The song will be played over and over again until it has completely integrated with a certain moment in time. So the next time I hear it again it will take me back to that specific moment.

I try to learn myself that ‘not sharing the music’ is relentlessly selfish and very much not the point of what music is about. Music is about sharing and bringing people together. So therefore I decided to make a tribute to all the music that is or has been important to me. Hopefully it will inspire others to share their own personal music alphabet and to explore the musical sights that were off their map before.

I: I Remember (Whitley)
Whitley’s I Remember is a quiet and simple song, but very effective. The simple melody gets stuck in my brain but also touches my heart every time I hear it. The song strongly reminds me of one of the best trips I’ve ever made in my life. Not so much because of the lyrics but because of its presents inside my head when I was walking around the city streets and eating in the food courts of the city that changed me forever.

This city was Singapore. I remember getting on the train that would take me to Germany. From there I could take the cheapest non-stop flight to Changi Airport. I wasn’t really in the mood for waiting eight hours in Dubai because I would travel alone and so, even though I could have had a cheaper flight, I booked myself a plane ticket Düsseldorf – Singapore that would take me there in one straight line without stopping.

During the flight I listened to the music I brought along. Cloud Control’s This Is What I Said really became the soundtrack for that trip but I Remember has a firm second place. I’ll always carry it in my heart as a song that marked the beginning of a new me. The low-fi quality of the music but also of the music video gives the song a homely feeling. Perhaps Singapore is my home away from home. I really hope to visit it again but till that time I have this:

Leave a Reply

