ABC: Music (2011) – K

Music is very important to me. I like to surround myself with music throughout the day: when I wake up; when I’m on the road; when I’m eating; when friends are visiting; when I feel sad; when I feel happy. No moment is truly experienced without a certain ‘soundtrack’ to accompany it.
I can get quite attached to a song which creates two distinguished consequences:

1- I find it very difficult to share, for I consider it my song. As soon as others start to play the song the love can extinguished quite easily. Only the very best survive this challenge.
2- The song will be played over and over again until it has completely integrated with a certain moment in time. So the next time I hear it again it will take me back to that specific moment.

I try to learn myself that ‘not sharing the music’ is relentlessly selfish and very much not the point of what music is about. Music is about sharing and bringing people together. So therefore I decided to make a tribute to all the music that is or has been important to me. Hopefully it will inspire others to share their own personal music alphabet and to explore the musical sights that were off their map before.

K: Kisses over Babylon (Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros)
I always have to suppress the need to say Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Seven instead of Magnetic Zeros. I blame the movie the Magnificent Seven from 1960, an American western with Steve McQueen. A song that matches the Western feeling of the movie is Kisses over Babylon. This song always follows up Kings of the Wild Frontier by Adam Ant on my iPod for it plays the songs alphabetically. The two of them really bring the Wild West to live and I love it!

What I also love is the short movie the hippy band created around the song or actually around their whole album. In 12 video’s they tell a beautifully shot story about love and freedom. Kisses over Babylon is actually the second video of this project called SALVO! and is definitely worth seeing. Just like the song the video has a strong link to the Western, situated in a dessert wasteland and a dirty prison. Note that it takes over three minutes before the song starts.

Leave a Reply

