ABC: Music (2011) – L

Music is very important to me. I like to surround myself with music throughout the day: when I wake up; when I’m on the road; when I’m eating; when friends are visiting; when I feel sad; when I feel happy. No moment is truly experienced without a certain ‘soundtrack’ to accompany it.
I can get quite attached to a song which creates two distinguished consequences:

1- I find it very difficult to share, for I consider it my song. As soon as others start to play the song the love can extinguished quite easily. Only the very best survive this challenge.
2- The song will be played over and over again until it has completely integrated with a certain moment in time. So the next time I hear it again it will take me back to that specific moment.

I try to learn myself that ‘not sharing the music’ is relentlessly selfish and very much not the point of what music is about. Music is about sharing and bringing people together. So therefore I decided to make a tribute to all the music that is or has been important to me. Hopefully it will inspire others to share their own personal music alphabet and to explore the musical sights that were off their map before.

L: Letter Home (Motorama)
Letter Home by Motorama is one of those songs that has something extra special about it. It’s magical. The deep dark voice of the lead singer and the psychedelic melody of the guitar create vivid images of what the music clip should be. The song doesn’t have one, but maybe that is the best part about it because it allows you to close your eyes and dream of into your own mind.

I do not recall writing a letter home in my life, not ever. When I’m travelling I occasionally send a postcard but it contains nothing more than a traditional greeting and a description of my most recent adventure (“I went to visit the museum today”) and a weather overview which consist out of a little pictogram of a sun or a cloud with raindrops accompanied by the temperature. So nothing sublime really…

Of course times have changed. When you’re away from home and you have something urgent to tell you dial a number or sent an e-mail, but you never grab a pen and paper and sit down to write. It takes too much time in this ever faster spinning world to reach its destination. I remember reading Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austin and the agony of one of the protagonist while waiting on a letter to arrive, which took ages! How lovely it is that we can get an answer in return as fast as we can type!

But then again, how often did I wait on a return answer? Perhaps a little bit too often: I’m even waiting on two right now. It was two days ago that I send both e-mails. Luckily I can keep myself occupied with other things in the meantime. Work, exams, Christmas shopping…even listening to fine music 😉 Music like this:

Leave a Reply

