ABC: Music (2011) – S

Music is very important to me. I like to surround myself with music throughout the day: when I wake up; when I’m on the road; when I’m eating; when friends are visiting; when I feel sad; when I feel happy. No moment is truly experienced without a certain ‘soundtrack’ to accompany it.
I can get quite attached to a song which creates two distinguished consequences:

1- I find it very difficult to share, for I consider it my song. As soon as others start to play the song the love can extinguished quite easily. Only the very best survive this challenge.
2- The song will be played over and over again until it has completely integrated with a certain moment in time. So the next time I hear it again it will take me back to that specific moment.

I try to learn myself that ‘not sharing the music’ is relentlessly selfish and very much not the point of what music is about. Music is about sharing and bringing people together. So therefore I decided to make a tribute to all the music that is or has been important to me. Hopefully it will inspire others to share their own personal music alphabet and to explore the musical sights that were off their map before.

S: Seahorse (Devendra Banhart)
Not that long ago I visited two different aquariums in the same city; all to look for a certain kind of sea creature. The first aquarium was in a zoo. The dark corridors of the accommodation were crammed with kids, mothers and art students who were franticly scribbling on their white sheets of paper. The fish swimming behind the big glass walls were big and small, grey and colourful but none of them was this magical sea creature I wanted to see. For a second I thought to have found them: a perfect water reservoir doomed up in front of me but it was awfully quiet behind the glass. Except from some coral nothing lived in it.

The second aquarium I visited the day after was meant for families and young children. All rooms had a certain theme. Some looked like a jungle, some like a submarine and others were decorated with fantastical sea creatures. The only way to see the sharks was by entering the jaws of one of their giant relatives. Not only was the accommodation more divers than that in the zoo aquarium but also the animals that were displayed. Beside fish one could admire turtles, thornback rays, snakes and iguanas. I believed my changes to encounter this magical little sea creature among them had definitely increased. But anywhere I looked I didn’t find it.

Until I reached the highest room in the building. At the left of it one could watch a thrilling documentary in a pirate’s cabin. The highlight of it most definitely had to be the almost martial arts kind of fight between two sea creatures in which one of them dramatically lost its arm. In the other corner of the room one could let their little ones build houses out of pillow like blocks in different kind of geometrical shapes. The wall was covered by a lot of small boxes that all occupied its own little sea creature. Most of them were little fish and shrimps, but one of them inhabited something else, something I had been looking for: a little seahorse.

Its majestic allure is magical and so is his way of living. Even this little fellow with his brown monotone colour in his little box was intriguing to watch. I can completely understand why Devendra Banhart wrote a tribute to the little sea animal in his song Seahorse. The song has an epical vibe to it that does right to the seahorse in everyway. The eight minutes are almost too short. Please enjoy:

Leave a Reply

